School Social Worker

School Social Worker - Chung Ying Ha

 

Since January 2006, the school has opened a full-time school social worker position to support teachers, parents, students, and their families. As of 2021, school social work services have been in operation for 15 years. Our primary services include parent, child, teacher counseling services, parent education activities, personal spiritual development, various family support services, and parent volunteer services.

 

 

1. Our school social workers provide diversified counseling services.

 

(a)Child-centered Play Therapy

 

Play is the language of children, and "child-centered play therapy" is a treatment with clinical and theoretical foundations.

 

The treatment mainly helps children resolve inner depression, reduce emotional barriers, and strengthen the mind through games to have a healthy mental and emotional development. Play allows children to make their internal world external, bringing healing effects (Landreth, 1982).

 

"Child-centered play therapy" focuses on listening to children's voices expressed in games and conveying care and love to children to help children understand themselves and their world. It also helps children learn to control themselves and express themselves freely with a sense of responsibility, learn to respect and accept themselves, learn
to make choices, and be responsible for their choices.


In addition to establishing the relationship between social workers and children to stimulate children's motivation for transformation and growth, we also attach great importance to communication with parents to enhance parents' understanding of children's needs. We also aim to encourage parents to understand the feasibility and participation of parent-child games. When we uphold the same belief, understand and agree with children's feelings, accept their limitations, cherish their value as human beings, and show them care with a sincere attitude to help children develop healthy emotional and mental development. Children re-experience a trustworthy relationship and feel understood and loved.

 

To meet children's needs, our school has a complete play therapy room for children in need.


(b)Individual Counseling Services for Children, Parents, and Teachers

 

Through face-to-face interviews and sharing, we will provide appropriate care services to those in need to relieve individuals' pressure facing difficulties and improve their feelings. We also aim to accompany those in need to build a positive life force.

 

(c)Parent Education Groups and Activities

 

School social workers in our school provide value-added activities for parents, such as parent education groups, storytelling groups at home, and parent book clubs. Through group learning, a parent support network is established, and parents are trained to obtain parental education that keeps pace. School social workers will also contact different voluntary agencies to organize appropriate activities for those in need.

 

 

2. Personal Spiritual Development Activities

 

The development of the soul is an essential element of life. The school social worker cooperates with the C.C. & M.A Cheung Sha Wan Fuk Shing Church every year to organize Christian evangelism, a Christian-faith parent class, and a youth uniform group, the Boys' Brigade, Hong Kong, etc. These activities will help parents learn how they can enhance their lives through the Christian faith and cultivate the multi-dimensional development of parents' minds.

 

Besides, our school has designed a unique spiritual morning assembly, "Heavenly Father's Soul Garden," for young children since 2016. The meeting is to cultivate children's concentration and positive thinking through learning to listen and be quiet. We believe that training children's hearts will help their children in the face of pressure and setbacks in the future.

 

We are convinced that only a family with a healthy body, mind, and soul can nourish healthy children. Therefore, we hope that in the days to come, our school social worker can continue to maintain close contact and communication with parents so that lovely children can receive more flexible learning. Hence, they can grow up happily and smoothly transition to elementary school.

 

 

3. Family Support Service

 

Based on the belief that prevention is better than cure, we invite parents to fill out the family needs questionnaire every year to understand the growth of their children and their families' needs. It helps the school understand the difficulties of students and parents and provides appropriate guidance and counseling services to those in difficulty as soon as possible.

 

Besides, the school has participated in the "Pilot Scheme on Social Work Service for Early Childhood Schools" to identify and support pre-school children and their families in need as early as possible. The Social Welfare Department officially launched a three-year "Pilot Scheme on Social Work Service for Pre-primary Institutions" in the 2018-2019 school year. Since February 2020-22, the Heep Hong Society has launched the "Pilot Scheme on Social Work Service for Early Childhood Schools" to provide professional social work services for the school to support the needs of pre- school children, their parents, caregivers, and staff. The school-based social work service of the Heep Hong Society will be in school two days a week.

 

Also, the school has a "Parents Resources Shelf." The school regularly opens the "Parents Resources Shelf" for parents to borrow books and teaching materials to equip themselves, learn all kinds of knowledge from different media, share with their children, and grow together. For details, please refer to "Parents Resources Shelf".

 

 

4. Parent Volunteer Service

 

The school social labor union actively recruits and trains parents to participate in voluntary work. It has also established a parent volunteer group: Dorcas Volunteer Group, to encourage parents to participate in community volunteer services to help others help themselves. For details, please refer to the "Parent Volunteer Service Development" section.

學校社工

學校社工鍾影霞姑娘


自2006年1月開始,本校開設了全時間駐校學校社工的職位,支援本校的老師、家長、學生及其家庭需要。及至2021年,學校社工服務已運作了15年,我們主要重點服務包括家長、兒童及老師輔導服務、家長教育活動、個人靈性發展、各種家庭支援服務及家長義工服務。

 


(一)本校社工提供多元化輔導服務

 

(a)兒童為本 - 遊戲治療


遊戲是兒童的語言,「兒童為本的遊戲治療」是一種具有臨床及理論基礎的兒童治療法。

 

治療主要是透過遊戲幫助兒童化解內心鬱結、減除情緒障礙、及強化心靈,讓兒童心理情緒得以健康成長。在遊戲中,兒童能夠自由安全地把內心世界具體地表達出來,帶來治療效果(Landreth,1982)。

 

「兒童為本遊戲治療」,重點在於聆聽兒童在遊戲中表達的心聲,並向兒童傳遞關懷及愛護,以輔助兒童了解自己及其世界,學會自我控制及有責任心地自由表達,學會尊重及接納自己,學會做選擇並為自己的選擇負責。
    
除了透過社工與兒童建立的關係,引發出兒童轉變及邁向成長的動力,我們也非常重視與家長的溝通,提升家長認識兒童的需要,並鼓勵家長了解親子遊戲的可行性和參與性。當大家能持守對兒童的信念,努力了解及認同兒童的感受,接納兒童的限制,珍視兒童作為人的價值,並用真誠的態度給予兒童關懷,便能把心理情緒養份傳遞給兒童,讓兒童重新經驗一份可信賴的關係,從中感到被了解及愛護。

 

本校為配合兒童的需要,設有完善的遊戲治療室,供有需要的學童使用。


(b)兒童、家長及老師個別諮詢輔導服務


透過面談及分享,為有需要人士提供適切的關懷服務,舒緩個人面對困難的壓力,改善不良的情緒,陪伴有需要人士建立正面的生命動力。

 

(c)家長教育小組及活動


本校學校社工,為家長提供小組增值活動,如家長教養小組、在家講故事小組及家長讀書會;透過小組的學習,建立家長的支援網絡,及培養家長獲得與時並進的親職教育。學校社工亦會聯繫區內不同志願機構合辦適切的活動予有需要人士。

 


(二)個人靈性發展活動


心靈的發展是生活的重要部份,學校社工每年會與本校的教會:中華宣道會長沙灣福盛堂合作,舉辦基督教的佈道會,基督教信仰家長班及基督教的青少年制服團體-香港基督少年軍招募等,讓家長們認識基督教信仰對我們生命的幫助,並培養家長的心靈多向度的發展。

 

另外,本校由2016年開始,為幼童設計了獨特的靈性早會:<天父的心靈花園>,透過學習安靜和聆聽,培養孩子的專注力和正面思維。我們相信操練孩子的心,對其日後兒童面對壓力和挫折時均有幫助。

 

我們深信,身心靈都健康的家庭,才能孕育出身心靈都健康的孩子,因此,我們盼望在未來的日子,本校的社工能繼續與各家長保持緊密的聯繫及交流,使可愛的孩子獲得更適切的管教和指導,從而能快樂的成長,過渡至小學階段。

 

 

(三)家庭支援服務


我們本著預防勝於治療的信念,每年均邀請家長填報家庭需要問卷,以了解孩子的成長及其家庭的需要。當中不但有助校方了解學童及家長的困難,對困難者也能盡快作出適切的指導及給予諮詢服務。

 

此外,本校參加了<幼兒駐校社工服務先導計劃>。為及早識別及支援有需要的學前兒童及其家庭,社會福利署於2018-2019學年正式推出為期三年的「學前單位提供社工服務先導計劃」。協康會自2020-22年2月起開展「幼兒駐校社工服務先導計劃」,為本校提供專業社工駐校服務,以支援學前兒童、其家長、照顧者以及教職員的需要。協康會的駐校社工服務會每星期在校兩天。


還有,本校設有《家長資源閣》。本校定期開放《家長資源閣》,供家長借用書籍及教材,裝備自己,從不同媒體學習各樣知識,與孩子一起分享,一起成長。詳情可參考《家長資源閣》。


(四)家長義工服務


本校學校社工會主動招募及培訓家長參與義務工作,並成立了家長義工小組:多加義工團,鼓勵家長參與社區的義工服務,以達到助人自助的目的。詳情可參考《家長義工服務發展》部份。